How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, there is a three-year statute of limitations for car accident claims that begins on the date of the accident. When three years pass, you will likely have no options to pursue compensation from the other drivers and liable parties. If you try to file a claim after the three-year statute of limitations ends, then the court will toss it out in all but the rarest of circumstances.
Three years might seem like a long time, but it can go by quickly if you are dealing with the fallout of your injuries. It is advised that you speak with a car accident attorney as soon as possible after being in a wreck. They can get your case started for you and begin compiling useful evidence that proves liability.
Your attorney will also keep an eye on the statute of limitations for your car accident claim. If the date is approaching and your claim is not yet complete, then they can talk with you about filing the claim just to stop the clock on the statute. While waiting for the insurance company’s response, they can still complete more work on your claim if needed. However, if you hire a car accident attorney soon after being injured, then it is highly likely that they will be ready to file your claim well before Missouri’s three-year statute of limitations draws near.
When Should You Tell Your Insurance About a Crash?
You should tell your auto insurance provider about being in a car accident the same day as your crash. If you can speak with a car accident lawyer first, then that is preferred. They can help you decide what to say to avoid accidentally making it sound like you caused the accident by saying the wrong thing.
If someone was hurt in your accident or there was more than $250 in property/vehicle damage, then a crash report must be filed with the police within 10 days. Sometimes just fixing a dented fender can cost $250, so most car accidents should be followed by a police report.
Do you need to get your car accident claim moving before the statute of limitations hits? Call (601) 265-6869 and connect with ‘Maggio | Thompson, LLP in Jackson. Our lawyers would be happy to hear from you to see if we can assist with your claim or pending lawsuit. Initial consultations are free for your convenience.