How Often Do Truckers in Mississippi Have to Renew Their License?
Commercial truck drivers in Mississippi must have a valid commercial driver’s license (CDL) to legally operate their commercial vehicles. There are multiple types of CDLs in Mississippi, but most commercial truck drivers you see on the highway have a Class A CDL, which allows them to drive a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds.
To obtain a CDL, truckers need to pass a driving safety and general trucking knowledge test administered by the Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT). But a CDL does not last forever. In Mississippi, truckers need to renew their commercial driver’s license every four years.
How to Renew a Mississippi CDL
Renewing a commercial driver’s license in Mississippi is relatively easy. The average trucker can file the appropriate forms with MDOT, pay a renewal fee, and wait for the renewed license to arrive in the mail. As with standard driver’s licenses for motorists who only drive private passenger vehicles, there is no recertification or retesting needed to renew most CDLs.
A trucker might need to retake a certification test to renew their CDL if they:
- Have marks on their license: A truck driver might need to become recertified for their CDL if marks have been added to either their CDL or standard driver’s license since the last time they received or renewed the license.
- Transport hazardous materials: Commercial drivers with an H-endorsement for Hazmat need to complete a certification test again to renew their commercial driver’s license. This retest will likely look much like the test originally taken with changes only if there have been changes in the law.
Truck Accidents with Unlicensed Truck Drivers
Although many truck drivers can renew their CDL without any retesting, it is still crucial that they renew this license whenever necessary. Driving a commercial truck without a CDL is unlawful and can land the truck driver in jail in some circumstances.
Furthermore, a valid CDL is seen as evidence that the truck driver had an acceptable level of safety knowledge when behind the wheel of their commercial vehicle. Without a CDL, it can be argued that that truck driver was unable to safely drive their vehicle, regardless of what truck driving knowledge and experience they actually have. For this reason, if you are hit by a truck driver who does not have a valid CDL, it is imperative that you speak with a truck accident attorney about how to use that fact to the fullest advantage.Were you hit by an unlicensed truck driver in Mississippi? Dial (601) 265-6869 and talk to our truck accident attorneys of ‘Maggio | Thompson, LLP in Jackson right away! We know what it takes to hold trucking companies accountable for employing unlicensed and unsafe truck drivers. We might be able to secure fair compensation on your behalf, but we can’t help unless you let us. Start with a free case evaluation today.
Personal Injury Settlement $5,900,000
18-Wheeler Settlement $2,100,000
Auto Settlement $1,000,000
Slip and Fall Settlement $1,000,000
Wrongful Death Auto Settlement $500,000
Car Wreck $437,500
Burn Injury $425,000
Dog Bite Settlement $400,000
Workers' Compensation Settlement $365,000
Motorcycle Wreck $300,000